Morosity Album Review – Free Download

MOROSITY “Misanthrope”

“Sourness of temper; sullenness: a gloomy ill-tempered feeling: a sullen moody resentful disposition.” This is what you will read if you go to their biography page. Sounds interesting doesn’t it? I thought so. When I checked out their album I was treated to their lyrics too. Wow!

Morosity is a combined acoustic and alternative rock band. Each of the five members has varied backgrounds in music with a goal to “sidestep the pointless revivalism of music today and focus on how they can evolve and confront the issues that bind them.” I must say that I picked up on their superb mood inducing sound right away on a quick sample. So let’s see what else this puppy can deliver.

Wow, I was hooked on the first song. Acoustic instrumental is what I feel like calling this. But that wouldn’t be right because there are vocals too. The style reminds me of Days of the New. The lyrics are like pure poetry, the music is purely atmospheric, the singing, well, I’ll get back to that.

I would score the album based on the music alone a 100%. I like the messages and themes too which I would boast around the 95% mark. What takes it down a bit for me is the singer’s voice. It’s not bad by any means. When I first heard the vocals pop in on the album I wasn’t impressed. As the album went on I warmed up to them. I have to admire them for delivering such a well thought out, well produced album here. I give this album an 89% chance of sunshine!

Daniel C. Morrison – Acoustic Alternative

Track Listing

  • Adam
  •  Eve
  • Stampede
  • Evidence of Insomnia
  • Subconscious
  • Day or Reckoning
  • Breaking Vein
  • Black Rainbow
  • Malpractice
  • Hypocrite
  • Why Do I

Get the album now (click the image):